Gallery

Sweet Like Chocolate!

Happy Monday!

I realise that not everyone appreciates Monday, seeing as it’s the day that tears us away from our beloved weekends, so I thought what better way to cheer you up than with a new blog post :)

It’s about time  I ventured away from the ordinary cake life and started trying something a little more adventurous. Among the very talented bakers in my family I have an Aunt who loves to experiment with crazy ingredients! As family tradition has it, we spent part of the Christmas period dining in her home, and no one was looking forward to dessert as much as I was. We never have the option of one dessert, but at least two or three choices… My gut chose the Salted Caramel Torte. The other two dessert options don’t even deserve a mention, sorry. Hands down, the torte won over my heart from the first bite.

After almost slipping into sugar shock, I decided that I too needed to master this dessert. Warning: this dessert is not for the faint hearted. A crunchy biscuit base lays underneath a blanket of golden caramel, and smothered in a solid block of  sweet chocolate- this sinful dessert doesn’t even require a side of ice cream. Just like my favourite Red Velvet cake, this tasty treat is one of those once-in-a-while treats.

I admit it didn’t taste exactly like my Aunt’s version (I may have used a Milk chocolate instead of Plain as the recipe suggested), but for a first attempt I was pretty impressed with myself. It was a quick dessert to prepare and the only lengthy part was waiting for the chocolate to solidify in the fridge/freezer. (My recommendation, for best results prepare this dessert overnight and serve the next day) Keep an eye on the Recipe section of my blog for the how-to.

Enjoy!

Tracey xoxo

And here’s a little throwback tune for you too. This was one of my favourite songs as a kid, oh to be young again.

Leave a Reply

