Gallery

Quest for a ‘manly cake’

 Evening cake lovers,

Yes, it is I. Returning to you with new, exciting and mouthwatering recipes.

With Father’s Day in mind I wanted to venture into the untouched pages of my recipe books. With my Dad’s high blood pressure and dislike of “sweet things” I attempted to dig up the most manly-cake… I found a number of recipes containing nuts. What’s more manly than nuts eh? The decision was made, Blueberry Crumble Loaf. (Fruit+Nuts, yup a manly cake!)

Having been a recent convert to blueberry pancakes, I was certain that this cake would be a success. Especially with the divine partnership of a crumble topping with pecans. When I wrapped and presented this loaf of heaven to my Dad, he oh so conveniently announced that he had a conference to attend. Meaning he would be taking the entire cake with him! I know, I know, I baked the cake for him but every baker must sample their own produce, right? And I’m convinced that the rest of our household shed a silent tear as we watched that cake leave the house…

The manly cake!

The good news is that Dad loved the cake! Even more importantly, I baked another cake the next day so that the other hungry mouths could sample the delicacy.

The softness of the berries, embedded in the spongy bed of cake; sitting underneath a blanket of light brown, nutty crumble, was a taste of heaven that I had never experienced before. The crumble topping was crisp, and golden brown corners fell away from the knife, like nuggets of treasure. The contrast of the supple sponge and crunchy crumble was just the right amount of machoism I needed for this Father’s Day treat.

Served with a side of fresh blueberries and a cup of breakfast tea, this is the perfect summer’s afternoon indulgence.

“Over years I discovered that my Father was not just an advisor to kings but a kingmaker” -Nelson Mandela 

Happy Father’s Day to all the men who have raised young boys to be men, and those who taught their girls to value themselves as Queens. And to those who are no longer with us, let us remember the legacies that they’ve left behimd. For me, every day is Father’s day.

Love & manly cakes,
Tracey xoxo

Bluberry Crumble Loaf

Leave a Reply

