Gallery

For a Good Cause

Hello cake lovers,

Apologies for another late start to the month, my cake-infused life is getting busier by the day! Today’s post is dedicated to my late ‘Grampa’, Anthony A. Beeko and an amazing charity, Cancer Research UK.

Two and a half weeks ago I took part in a 4K sponsored run to raise money for Cancer Research UK. (I ran the race on 1.07.2012 in 22min 15sec.) and 2.07.2012 was the 5yr. anniversary of my Grampa’s death. He passed away from Cancer of the colon, so this charity is the best one for me to support. I had been trying to persuade myself for the past 3yrs. that I would run this race and it wasn’t until a few months ago that my friend, S, signed up and encouraged me to join her.

I’ve spent the past few weeks encouraging my friends and family to sponsor me and so far I’ve raised £200, £100 more than my target :) Even though the 4K run was an achievement in itself I decided to set myself an extra goal- for every friend/family member that sponsored me £10 or more I would bake them a cake of their choice. (No one can resist cake, so I knew this would be a good bribe!) So far I’ve baked five cakes and I have another eight or so to bake! With every cake I’ve baked the money has come from my own pocket, and every penny donated has gone to charity.

The actual day of the race was so much fun- there was a Zumba instructor who helped us warm up; the Mayor of the City came to encourage us, and everyone who participated was in such good spirits. After the race, myself and S indulged in a little post-workout treat of McD’s and Red Velvet cupcakes at the Fallen Angel bakery :) …Don’t judge us, I can feel you judging us! You gotta live a little!

My donation page is still open for sponsorship so feel free to drop some pennies my way. It’s for a good cause.

http://raceforlifesponsorme.org/traceytrace

Love cupcakes & a cure for Cancer,

Tracey xoxo

7 thoughts on “For a Good Cause

Leave a Reply

