Gallery

Bridal Shower in Brooklyn

In today’s post I want to flashback to the month of April when I took a vacation to NYC. The purpose of my vacation was to attend my friend’s wedding (A and T), and in the week preceding the wedding I attended T’s bridal shower in Flatbush, Brooklyn.

The function hall was decorated according to the chosen colours of pink and green, laden with synthetic flowers, containers filled with green and pink Kool Aid, and a giant throne for the Bride-to-Be. I’m sure it will come as no surprise to you when I say that the dessert table caught my eye from the second I entered the room! I’m usually a lover of fruit, but on this occasion my eyes glossed over the tropical-coloured fruit platter and diverted straight to the giant cake, mini macaroons and delicately frosted cupcakes.

 I admit I’ve never been a fan of American-style frosting because I found that it had an artificial taste- you know the kind, when you can tell the difference between a home-made frosting and a store bought frosting, and the store bought kind doesn’t quite measure up? On the contrary, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the frosting on the cupcake was light and creamy; the frosting had been whipped to perfection, and the cupcake itself had a light note of vanilla which complemented the frosting to a tee. But the one dessert that I was most excited to get my hands on was the Red Velvet Macaroons. 

My sister has been bragging about the beauty of Macaroons for at least a year now. Not only is she blessed to have a baking obsessed sister like me *wink wink* but she also has a very devoted, baking obsessed friend who is renowned for bestowing treats on birthdays, particularly cupcakes and Macaroons. So you can imagine my glee when I realised that I would finally be able to indulge my taste buds with these delicacies.

 I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect with the Macaroons because they looked like a cross breed between a cake and a cookie. In essence it is the love child of a cake and cookie (yes, I actually took the time to think about that analogy and I believe it’s the most fitting description).  I’ll try anything once, and as far as red velvet and cream cheese is concerned I’m a slave to the flavours! I have no shame in admitting that I ate two or three Macaroons at the Bridal Shower, and took a few home in a doggy bag too! Hey, they were there for the taking, stop shaking your head- only God can judge me!

For those of you wondering where the recipe is, I didn’t think it would be fair of me to supply a recipe that I have not tested and tried myself. It is my mission to add Macaroons on my list of baking-trials, so until I begin to experiment I will leave you with a few images from the Bridal Shower itself.

 

 

Love & Cupcakes,

Tracey xoxo

3 thoughts on “Bridal Shower in Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

