Gallery

“Cakespiration” pt.I

Cookies & Cream Oreo cupcakes

The finished product: Cookies & Cream Oreo cupcakes

Perfect for satisfying the sweet tooth

As I inspire my readers to get acquainted with the mixing bowl and whisk, I also plan to share where my cakespiration stems from (Cake + Inspiration= Cakespiration). As part of my appreciation for my fellow cake lovers I’m starting a new blog-series called ‘cakespiration’, in which I hope to get you all viewing the cake tin as half full!

This week I want to draw your attention to one of my top three favourite baking shows- ‘Cupcake Wars.’ I discovered this show a year ago while surfing the cooking channels. This fiery battle of the cupcakes is a baking competition in which professional bakers (most of which own their own Cupcakery or Bakery) compete to be the caterer for various Hollywood events. For the most part, the bakers benefit because their Cupcakery/Bakery gains recognition among the celebrity circuit; but for the viewer, it’s an hour of pure baking anarchy!

The bakers are set a number of challenges and a contender gets knocked out at each round until the winner stands victorious. In one particular episode the opening challenge was to create a breakfast cupcake, it sounds simple enough until you hear what ingredients were provided: bacon, black pudding, cinnamon, fruits and tea bags! Only a baking magician could turn black pudding and bacon into a cake. That is exactly what these people are, pure baking genius. Bakers are given between 30-45mins to create a cupcake with impeccable presentation and of course a mouth-watering taste too.

What these bakers create is nothing short of amazing, and a standard that I crave to obtain. However, I must admit that after watching the show for the past year I have adopted a little kitchen hysteria! I recently took on the challenge of catering for a Youth Christmas party and I appointed my sister as assistant baker. It got to a point where she had to tell me to stop and calm down because we wren’t on Cupcake Wars! Needless to say, I threatened to fire her!

If you’re not a baking addict I can be certain that even the sceptical among you will get a kick out of Cupcake Wars. And for those of you who are joint at the hip to your recipe books, prepare to be amazed, inspired, and lured into my world of cake addiction.

Love & Cupcakes,

Tracey xoxo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5yVhdfLdIpM&feature=youtu.be

3 thoughts on ““Cakespiration” pt.I

Leave a Reply

