Gallery

You can’t buy their Love… But you can bake them Cake!

Marbled Chocolate Mud Cakes: gifts of love I baked for my colleagues.

Marbled Chocolate Mud cakes (Keep an eye on the 'Recipes page' for the how-to)

Have you ever struggled to find the ‘perfect gift’ for someone? There’s no denying we have all been there- birthdays, anniversaries, Christmas, just-because-gifts; they can all be a pain in the derriere, especially when you don’t know exactly what the person loves. The key to providing a jaw-dropping gift lies in your listening and visual skills. What is the person passionate about, and where do their hobbies lie? If you pay enough attention to these things then you’ll have no problem whatsoever. I always thought I was the master of gifts, sensei if you wish, well that was until one particular friend knocked me off the top spot!

It was last year on my birthday that I received a new revelation of gift-giving: I was handed a sparkly gift bag with a picture of a giant cupcake on. I grinned from ear to ear and peeped inside the bag to see a lavishly scented, hand-crafted, cupcake-shaped candle. But wait, she didn’t stop there, the biggest and best birthday gift- two gift wrapped bags containing freshly baked, rich, and nutty chocolate brownies. OMW! (Oh My Word) If ever you were blessed with the gift of these brownies you would know the utmost joy I felt that day…

You can’t gobble down these brownies in 2mins, no, no, no. These brownies are so moreish that you can’t help but nibble them, just so that they last that little while longer. The top was flakey and the inside so soft, it felt as though it were melting on my tongue. Rest assured these ‘Killer Brownies’ are not the gooey kind but baked to perfection. And the finely chopped nuts, oooh they were just the right amount of crunch that was needed. (There’s no denying that was one of my best gifts that day, and I had obtained some pretty awesome gifts. ) It was that particular gift, from that very special person which spurred me on to bake my way to people’s hearts ; )

But isn’t this a gift only females would appreciate you ask? No, everyone loves cake, yes everyone. There’s a saying that goes, ‘the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.’ Follow up any hearty meal with a freshly baked treat, or present a bag full of cake-shaped-sin and they’ll be singing your praises all day! So dust off those recipe books and whip yourself into action because I have a feeling that it’s going to be a cupcakingly delicious year.

Love & Cupcakes,

Tracey xoxo

4 thoughts on “You can’t buy their Love… But you can bake them Cake!

  1. You’re right! Everyone loves something they can eat for a present! They marble cupcakes look like they turned out really really well; more cupcake-lovechild combinations are needed

Leave a Reply

