Gallery

Never Judge a Cake by its Cover

Welcome to 2012 fellow cake followers! We’re just three days into the new year and I’m super eager to bring some ‘cakespiration’ to you ; )…

There’s nothing I love more than the sweet, crisp smell of freshly baked goodies wafting through the hallways of my home. The excitement of knowing that a golden-coloured sponge cake awaits my tastebuds, or perhaps a rich and buttery apple crumble, is almost too much glee to contain. But what if I were to offer you ‘garden cakes’ with your mug of tea or coffee? Carrot cake sounds normal enough, but would you be willing to try beetroot cupcakes, or a slice of courgette cake? I have a feeling that some of you may be putting your foot down at carrot cake. But wait, it’s a new year, aren’t you willing to try something new?

Hear me out, I recently went to visit relatives and my Aunt, who is a fantastic baker, offered me the very same ‘garden cakes’ that I told you about. Naturally a look of horror swept over my face as I imagined the taste of soggy courgettes embedded in a cake, but I was reassured that I wouldn’t be able to taste the veg, and they were only used to keep the cake moist. When it comes to food I like to think that I’ll try anything once- so I did. One of each…

Lo and behold, it was pretty darn good! Both the courgette and beetroot cakes were so soft they broke in my palm. They weren’t too rich, neither were they tasteless. My tastebuds and my stomach were happily lapping up this new cuisine and I have to admit that I had judged a cake by its cover. I can’t say that I’m reformed and delivered from the chocolatey goodness of a marble cake, or devilishly tasty brownies, but at least I can now eat a cake and count it as one of my five a day ; ) Moral of the story: Never judge a cake by its cover.

Viva la vegetables!

Love & Cupcakes,

Tracey xoxo

Garden cakes

Beetroot cupcakes. Courgette cakes. Carrot cake. Mince pies.

Are you tempted now?

5 thoughts on “Never Judge a Cake by its Cover

Leave a Reply

