Forever 21

Greetings cake enthusiasts,

How many of you remember your 21st birthday? I know I do. Truth be told, a number of years later I’m still trying to tell people I’m 21! One of my sisters recently reached this milestone and I happily offered to bake her birthday cake.

Her choice, Lemon Drizzle cake. Her specification, ‘Make it BIG!’

My previous attempt at Lemon Drizzle cake was not fantastic, it took me more than one attempt to realise that my ridiculously stodgy lemon cake was a result of squeezing the lemon juice into the batter, instead of grating in the lemon zest! Alas! Once I had realised the error of my ways I began baking endless supplies of lemon drizzle, making it a new favourite amongst my sister’s cake palette.

I chose to use a Chantilly cream to layer the cakes as I wanted something that would compliment the sweetness of the lemon cake, without overpowering it. I also added strawberries inbetween each layer for a fresh, summer taste. I made the cake without the drizzle topping, supplementing it with the cream. I’m pleased to say that my sister was more than happy with the outcome :) She loved the cake so much that she offered to illustrate the cake for my blog post. You can find more of her illustrations on her blog; www.jessnash.tumblr.com .

Love & Birthday cake,

Tracey xoxo

21st Birthday cake

(Aunty Kay’s) Lemon Drizzle cake

225g Unsalted butter

225g Caster sugar

4 Eggs

225g Self-raising flour

Finely grated zest x1 Lemon 

Chantilly Cream

284ml (10fl oz) Whipping cream

1 Vanilla pod

Icing sugar (Confectioner’s suagr) to taste

 

Preheat the oven to 180° / Gas Mark 4 and grease a loaf tin.

Cream together the butter, sugar and add the eggs one at a time.

Sift the flour into the batter and mix well on a medium speed. Grate in the lemon zest and fold in with a wooden spoon.

Bake the cake for 45-50mins or until fully baked. {If making a small layer cake, separate the batter into two or three parts. However, if you choose to go BIG, make two batches of the recipe.}

For the Chantilly cream, use the electric hand whisk to beat the whipping cream at a high speed and whisk the cream until it thickens. Cut the vanilla pod length ways and add it to the cream, stirring in the pods with a spatular. Add enough icing sugar to give a light and sweet taste, N.B. The vanilla pod will already add a fragrant taste to the cream so don’ty be excessive with the sugar.

To decorate, spread the cream over one slice of cake (ensure that the cake is fully cooled down) and slice strawberries to place on top of the cream. Add the second (and third) layers, repeating the cream and strawberry process. Refridgerate the cake for an hour minimum in order for the cream to set, and voila!

Layer it up!

Sandwich it together

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About cupcakinglydeliciouscakediaries

I bake out of happiness; I bake through sorrow; regardless of my emotions, I'll probably bake tomorrow! I'm on a relentless quest to discover cakes and bakes from far and wide. Where I glean my inspiration from is limitless; who I inspire is unknown.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Silver Anniversary | cupcakinglydeliciouscakediaries - July 1, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 811 other followers

